Fellowship of Australian Writers

8th June 2021

Mr GREG PIPER (Lake Macquarie)—I congratulate Lake Macquarie Branch of Australian Writers which was recently named as a finalist for the 2021 Lake Mac Artist and Creator award. In particular I'd like to acknowledge the efforts of branch President Pam Garfoot from Brightwaters. The volunteer-run group was formed in 2000 to promote and encourage excellence in writing and support new and aspiring authors. Through regular meetings and critiquing sessions, constructive criticism is offered to help members become the best writers they can be. These workshops cover a wide range of genres, topics and skills. Local authors also give presentations. The Fellowship also holds an annual Alice Sinclair Memorial Writing Competition. Despite COVID-19, 2020 was a successful year for the group. They not only published their first anthology, titled "Beneath the surface: an anthology of writing from Lake Macquarie", but also managed to continue with their regular meetings through ZOOM workshops. The group comprises a wonderful bunch of people who promote and encourage creativity, and I thank them for their efforts and their generous commitment to the local community.

Website: Read the Parliamentary Hansard here

<< Previous | Next >>