Awesome Lake Mac

25th March 2021

Mr GREG PIPER (Lake Macquarie)—I'd like to congratulate the team of volunteers behind Awesome Lake Mac on their outstanding contribution to their community and for winning the 2021 Lake Macquarie Community Group of the Year Award. I'd particularly like to acknowledge the efforts of the organisation's co-chairpersons Sarah Berry and Emilie Wiggers, as well as its 10 board members Ben Dawson, Jess Rixon, Sheena Harvey, Dayle Fogarty, Marisa Wilson, Sharyn Swan, Steve Graham, Nikki Abercrombie, Liz Robson and Janice McKay who all donate their time and money. Awesome Lake Mac has been operating since 2019 and to date has provided start-up funding to 13 community-led projects and activities which have elevated the creativity, wellbeing and social connection of Lake Macquarie. The organisation follows a similar formula to 'Shark Tank' where people pitch their ideas to Awesome Lake Mac, with successful applicants granted $1000 to help turn their ideas from concepts into reality. These grants come with no-strings attached, and allow services, business, groups and individuals to launch their projects or businesses, or grow their projects and ideas. I congratulate Awesome Lake Mac for all they've done and continue to do for the Lake Macquarie community.

Website: Read the Parliamentary Hansard here

<< Previous | Next >>