New playground opens at Morisset

6th November 2020

A new playground at Bernie Goodwin Memorial Park in Morisset, to be officially opened in the coming weeks, is now complete. The new park is thanks to $616,024 in funding from round two of the NSW Government’s Stronger Country Communities Fund, Catherine Cusack, Parliamentary Secretary for the Hunter said today.

Ms Cusack said the new playground boasts an upper activity area catering to young children and a lower playground area designed for older children, while fitness equipment has also been installed for locals to enjoy workouts in the great outdoors.

“There is ample shade at the playground as the innovative works have ensured beautiful old trees have been protected on site, while the sandstone barriers guarding the trees also provide seating,” Ms Cusack said.

State Member for Lake Macquarie Greg Piper said he was really pleased to see the project finished after it was delayed by site problems for so long.

“Young people in our region now have a vibrant, safe, inclusive play space that caters to their unique needs, the first of its kind for young people living in the Morisset area,” Mr Piper said.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro said the Stronger Country Communities Fund was helping to enrich the lives of residents in regional communities.

“Locals across regional NSW tell me how their Stronger Country Communities Fund projects have made a big difference to everyday life, from new playgrounds loved by kids to light towers extending the usable time of sporting fields,” Mr Barilaro said.

“The $400 million Stronger Country Communities Fund is part of the NSW Government’s $1.7 billion Regional Growth Fund, which is being invested in local programs and infrastructure that improve the lives of people living in regional NSW.”

The $1.7 billion Regional Growth Fund, together with the $4.2 billion Snowy Hydro Legacy Fund, are delivering once-in-a-generation infrastructure that generates opportunities, investment and jobs across regional NSW.

<< Previous | Next >>